- The Department of Corrections (DOC) is responsible for all registrations. Registrations began when an offender is released on parole or is sentenced to a term of probation, the registration requirement begins and lasts for 5 years.
- DOC is required to enter offender information into the Law Enforcement Data System (i.e., name, description, address and offense). The information is updated only when the offender changes residences and can give an address update in writing by U.S. mail.
- There are no criminal penalties for failing to register.
1991 – new crimes are added requiring registration.
- Supervised adult offenders coming into Oregon via Interstate Compact Agreement are made subject to registration.
- During their supervision, offenders are required to register with Community Corrections; post supervision offenders register with the Oregon State Police.
- Annual registration and address changes within 30 days are added to the requirements.
- Penalties are added for non-compliance ranging from a violation to a Class C Felony.
- Registration is extended to lifetime from the 5-year requirement. The ability for relief from registration is added. The new laws “grandfather” offenders in from 1989.
1993 – “Predatory” designation is created.
A predatory designation is given to convictions or adjudications of: Rape in any degree, Sodomy in any degree, Penetration with an Object in any degree, Sex Abuse in any degree and attempts to commit any of the above AND “Exhibits characteristics showing a tendency to victimize or injure others”. Language regarding the use of a risk assessment tool is included.
- Non-mandatory public notification is included, with any level of notification available at the discretion of the supervising official.
- Persons found “guilty except for insanity” of a sex crime are required to register the same as other sex offenders.
1995 – additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration.
- The registration requirement is changed to include offenders who move into Oregon from out of state.
- The registration requirement is reduced so offenders now have 10 days to register for annual and address changes.
- Some misdemeanor sex crimes are added to the list of offenses that are not eligible for petition to set aside a conviction.
- Predatory offender “community notification” authority is extended to law enforcement after the termination of an offender’s parole or probation.
- Changes are made to include juveniles who commit sex crimes including mandatory sentencing and remanding to adult court.
- Lifetime registration for juveniles is enacted with the ability to petition for relief from registration after 10 years.
- Youth may now be considered predatory and subject to community notification.
1997 – all registration offenses become Class A Misdemeanors or Class C Felonies.
- Supervising agencies must provide additional information to the State Police for purposes of offender profiling.
- Oregon Youth Authority and county juvenile departments are mandated to allow Oregon State Police access to their files for offender profiling.
1999 – Oregon complies with federal registration mandates by instigating a central registration repository at the Oregon State Police.
- To comply with Megan’s Law, Oregon enacts public access to registered offender information via telephone, in-person inquiry, and the Internet.
- New crimes are added requiring registration.
- Oregon State Police develop the software to provide public web site access, the system is tested and ready to implement.
- Court injunctions are filed against the Oregon State Police in Marion County Circuit Court, prohibiting the release of offender information on the internet.
- Language is added limiting the release of address and conviction information by Oregon State Police regarding sex offenders still under supervision.
2002 – Oregon State Police use Internet to make certain sex offender’s information available to the public.
- An additional court injunction is filed against Oregon State Police prohibiting release of offender information on the internet and the 1999 injunction continues.
- Language to allow juveniles relief from the duty to register is added.
- Prior to release, notification must be made to appropriate law enforcement by the Parole Board when an offender is released on parole or post-prison supervision (same applies to offenders on probation).
- Language is added which outlines criteria to be used by Oregon State Police or local law enforcement to determine if an offender now off of supervision qualifies for predatory status and public notification.
2003 – injunctions against Oregon State Police are vacated.
Due to budget cuts, Oregon State Police lay off approximately 129 Troopers and 125 professional staff, not including existing vacancy cuts. No funding exists to implement a public web site for sex offender notification.
2004 – language is changed allowing juveniles to petition for registration relief.
2005 – legislative changes are made to create a public sex offender website and track offenders working or attending school in Oregon.
- High risk Predatory sex offenders are posted to a public website at http://sexoffenders.oregon.gov which is opened to the public on June 29, 2006.
- Registered sex offenders who are employed or enrolled at a post-secondary institution in Oregon are required to report to law enforcement within 10 days of enrollment or 10 days from their 14th day of employment (effective January 1, 2006).
- Persons receiving relief from registration are required to send a certified copy of the court order to the Oregon State Police Sex Offender Registration Unit.
2006 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration; higher education attendance in Oregon requires registration.
- Second public or private indecency conviction, if conviction occurs on or after 01/01/2006 (no restrictions on when the 1st conviction occurred) - is added as a registerable offense.
- Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a vocation at or attends an institution of higher education and within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status at an institution of higher education an offender must report to law enforcement in person.
2007 - legislative renumber of relief statutes.
2008 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration.
- Online Sexual Corruption of a Child – is added as a registerable offense.
2012 – juveniles with misdemeanor adjudications no longer have to register.
- Sexual assault of an animal – is added as a registerable offense.
2013 - additional crimes are added to the list requiring registration.
- “Luring a minor” is registerable offense if court ordered.
- Conspiracy to commit a sex crime is added as registerable offense.
- Purchasing sex with a minor is added as registerable offense.
- Trafficking is added as registerable offense.
- Requires a sex offender who is released into Oregon, who is placed on probation in Oregon, or who moves into Oregon, to register as a sex offender if jurisdiction of conviction or federal law requires registration, regardless of whether conviction would be sex crime in this state.